Read: Neuromancer by William Gibson

Standard

Last week kept me busy with posting to my other blog, so even though I finished this book then this post got delayed until now. And with the gloomy, extremely windy weather outside tonight, it’s a perfect time to blog and read more books!

Neuromancer by William Gibson, make sure that is neuro-mancer and not necro-mancer which autocorrect thinks it should be, is a sci-fi action novel famous for the genre cyberpunk. If you don’t know what that is, it is what it sounds like: futuristic wired-in (as in Internet) dystopia.

My love of Robert Heinlein fed my collection of other sci-fi works, and of them this novel is well-known. The best way to describe it in comparison to other fiction works is to juxtapose A clockwork orange with Do androids dream of electric sheep? First, Clockwork because Gibson creates his own setting in which new terms and ideas remained unexplained throughout the word and the reader has to figure out and cobble them together as the story progresses; with both books, I feel I missed a lot on the first read and when I finished each, I had an urge to start them again–they could easily be re-read repeatedly with new discoveries with each reading it seems. It is like Androids because of its pulp fiction, action-adventure, movie-script-feel; they both are visual novels that readers can easily watch in their heads like movies, especially since the works are not as concerned about the language and beauty of the writing. However, there are some breath-catching lines that make you pause, either for their diction or meaning. The opening line is just that:

The sky above the port was the color of television, tuned to a dead channel.

Would I recommend this novel? Only if you like this sort of work. I know many people who would dislike or not care for it, while I know some who would be crazy for it.

Now that I’ve dipped my toes back into sci-fi, my tastebuds crave more–and there are several more books of that type waiting on my bookshelf. Remember?

Next up are a couple of sci-fi classics. You’ll just have to wait for the next post to find out more!

Infinite update: p. 95, footnote 43. Another puzzle piece examined yet not much further along. Although the next section looks to get us back to the tennis school, where most of the action occurs so who knows, maybe I’ll pass page 100 by the next post and be cruising right along for the next 800+ pages.

Image

One response »

Leave a Reply

