Headed to Camp, are you?: Camp NaNoWriMo June session

Standard

Celebrate this Friday even more jubilantly than usual by buckling down and cranking out a novel. Huh!? Yes, an entire novel. Okay, you have 30 days to do it, sound better?

Camp NaNoWriMo for June begins Friday and I’ve dived into the lake and begun meeting cabin mates as I unpack my things and get ready for a crazy June.

Before I began this book blog, I posted in November on my other blog about NaNoWriMo and my attempts to take it on this year. This summer, I will complete the challenge of writing 50,000 words in 30 days; try, try again!

Unplugging the Internet might really be necessary this time around, especially if I plan to keep on reading through my bookshelf like I promised myself. Things without hard deadlines are always difficult for me to accomplish since usually they tend to be my personal to-do list and thus can be usurped by something else. But darn it, without writing there are no books and without books there are no readers and without readers books cannot exist and hence writing cannot exist. And with all the material I’ve read lately, my head swims with words and writing styles, and I desire to produce.

So produce already! Yes, I’m just waiting for Friday to roll around and then my fingers will tap out fiction instead of metadata, writing will flow instead of MARC records from my tips. Perhaps I need to look up keyboard exercises to counteract carpal tunnel before embarking on this intense month of typing at home in addition to my work.

What are you doing with your summer? I’m going to Camp! This weekend, I’m sneaking my hubby Steve in with me. Shhh!

BTW, camp makes me think about Camp Anawanna from the ’90s Nick show Salute Your Shorts! “…Camp Anawanna, we hold you in our hearts. And when we think about you, it’s makes me wanna fart!…”

Time to get writing!

Camp NaNoWriMo 2012 graphic

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: There’s a subject heading for that!?: architecture and cosmology « ReadWriteLib

Leave a Reply

